NMI Democrats reorganize

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

SEVERAL supporters of independent candidates in the last general elections joined the NMI Democratic Party during its general membership meeting in the Fiesta Hall of Grandvrio Resort Saipan on Saturday.

Close to 200 people attended the meeting and listened to the keynote speaker, retired Lt. Col. Lawrence F. Camacho who called for the “preservation” of the two-party system in the CNMI, and accused the NMI Republicans of “failing in their duties” to the people and “recklessly selling our Commonwealth.”

Retired Lt. Col. Lawrence F. Camacho, right, poses with former Rep. Donald Barcinas, and Maria Castro during the NMI Democratic Party general membership meeting at Grandvrio Resort Saipan on Saturday.
Former Tinian Sen. David M. Cing, center, and Rep. Tina Sablan, third right, pose with NMI Democratic Party members.  Photos by Nola Hix

The reorganized central executive committee included long-time Democrats such as former Sen. David M. Cing, and some independent candidates in the 2018 general elections.

The committee reelected its chairwoman, Nola Hix, and vice chairman, Daniel O. Quitugua. The new secretary is Luella Marciano and the new treasurer is Evan Yamagishi.

The precinct officers are:

Precinct 1 — Nola Hix, Glenn Manglona, Mike White, John Furey, Vicente Sablan, Ben Piteg, Orrin Pharmin, Franklin Babauta, Pedro “Paduna” Guerrero, Edith Deleon Guerrero, and Annie Pickelsimer.

Precinct 2 — Luella Marciano, Joseph Hill, Meling Chargualaf, Elysian Chargualaf, and Stephen Woodruff.

Precinct 3 — Tony P. Mareham, Abdon Kaipat, Remy Seman, Jess Elameto, Connie Togawa, and Donald Barcinas.

Precinct 4 — Evan Yamagishi, Herman R. Guerrero, and Ted Guerrero.

Precinct 5 — Daniel O. Quitugua, Peter Muna, Jason Fitial, Ambrose Bennett, Herbert Soll, Barbara Iglesias, Ana Faisao, and Juan F. Osarch.

Precinct 6 (Tinian) — David Cing and Don Farrell

Precinct 7 (Rota) — Bernabe Maratita.

Also attending the NMI Democratic Party meeting were House Minority Leader Edwin Propst, Independent-Precinct 1; Rep. Tina Sablan, Independent-Precinct 2; and Rep. Richard Lizama, Independent-Precinct 5.

Hix said the NMI Democrats are calling on all people to vote for change in this year’s midterm elections.

“The only thing stronger than fear is your vote,” she added.

The meeting on Saturday, she said, was great and she was very pleased with the turnout.

“It just goes to show “that a lot of people are ready for change,” Hix said. “We are going to lead with positive energy. We want to let the people of the CNMI know that we are the party that fights for the people.”

Hix said retired Lt. Col. Lawrence F. Camacho’s remarks about the need to strengthen the two-party system in the CNMI were “very encouraging.”

“We need to prove ourselves as a party — what we can offer them, the people, and what it is that we need to do to win in 2020,” she added.

The last time an NMI Democrat won a legislative seat was in 2007.

November 2020 pssnewsletter

previous arrow
next arrow

Read more articles

Visit our Facebook Page

previous arrow
next arrow